Dr. David H. Johnson, M.D.

Dr. Johnson is the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas. He is a board certified medical oncologist who specializes in lung cancer and experimental therapeutics. From 1983 to 2010 he was a member of the faculty at the Vanderbilt University Medical School where he held the Cornelius A. Craig Chair of Medical and Surgical Oncology and served as the Director of the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology and Deputy Director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center of which he was a founding member. 

In 2004-2005 Dr. Johnson served as the President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) during which time he helped advance ASCO’s cancer survivorship initiative. He is the Chairman Elect of the ABIM Board of Directors and previously served on the ABIM Medical Oncology Subspecialty Board from 2001-2011, a committee he chaired from 2007 until 2011. Johnson also has served on the Food and Drug Administration’s Oncology Drug Advisory Committee, as Chairman of the Thoracic Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group and on the Board of Directors of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer and the LiveSTRONG Foundation. He has authored more than 350 journal articles and 40 book chapters and edited four oncology textbooks. He earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia and obtained his Medical Oncology training at Vanderbilt University.

Go Back